The Driver

June 27, 2015

The driver makes a smooth charge up the highway ramp and merges into confident pre-dawn traffic, filled with movers and shakers. The vehicles move with a fluid, supple grace; gazelles bounding across an asphalt savannah. 

Eyes scanning smoothly from windscreen to side mirrors and back; the driver on the look out for predators, their flashing blue lights a death nell for the unwary. The morning patrol, lions that pull the unfortunate from the pack, culling the weak and foolish from a herd of the strong and wary. 

There are no hunters this morning, though. So the herd surges gracefully down the byways – movers and shakers eager to move and shake the world.  

19 Responses to “The Driver”

  1. platosgroove said

    Shake ot up brother.

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      Thank you my friend. I’m experimenting with very short narratives – scenes, character and plot, with the intent of writing a flash fiction novel of 101 separate 101 word stories that form a unified narrative. Do you think it’s possible to write such a “micro” novel in such a way that it is a worthwhile read? I could use some critical feedback, if you have time and desire. Thanks in advance for your kind consideration. πŸ™‚

  2. davidmcdonnoughfaithblog said

    Wow…. that’s an economy. I have a hard time completing the thought in less than 1250 words per article. I really like your style.

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      Thanks for the feedback, David. It is encouraging that my Flash Fiction experiment resonated with you in some way.

      • davidmcdonnoughfaithblog said

        I’m also a musician. It’s like when 1 soloist plays 48 meticulous notes in 4 measures, then another soloist gets up and plays 12 passionate notes in 4 measures. Neither is “right” or “better”, and both artists look at each other and says, “That was great! I love how you did that.”

      • DeRicki Johnson said

        Man, that’s a beautiful analogy. What struck me is not only your description of how comparable beauty exists in musical “stories” of varying numbers of notes, existing in a matrix of notes, rhythm and time, but… and I’m having a hard time describing my thoughts and feelings here…but, your analogy triggered imagery and feelings in me that for a brief moment blew aside the clouds and revealed a small glimpse of the connected math and art of creativity and Creation. To ponder the Devine perfection of it all. How can we have any doubt as to the existence of an Architect and Purpose to It All? The underlying mathematical/artistic/symbolic-cognitive implications of notes, rhythm an time – man! Absolutely mind blowing and soul stretching. Have you ever read Godel, Escher, Bach-The Eternal Golden Braid? It’s about the unbroken thread through math, cognitive symbology and music. I highly recommend it if you haven’t. Your philosophy as implied in your comment would make it an interesting read for you, I think. Have a great Sunday, my writerly, musical friend!

      • davidmcdonnoughfaithblog said

        Amen. Will Bing the reading assignment… Sounds fascinating. Let’s interact soon. I look forward to reading you again.

      • DeRicki Johnson said

        Ditto!

  3. Sonya said

    Lovely piece – I can see them bounding along!

  4. appliedfaithorg said

    Thanks again for your recommendation of Godel, Escher, Bach-The Eternal Golden Braid. It came in last week. I like it so far, but wow is it a long book and a pithy read.

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      You’re welcome! I do hope you enjoy it. Upon picking it up, it had been a long time since I had to attend a read with such care and effort…but, I found it well worth it.

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      I even found myself re-reading parts of Alice in Wonderland! πŸ˜€
      It also rekindled my love of Escher’s work.

  5. mjlstories said

    Beautifully crafted.
    As someone who has had an on/off relationship with the steering wheel this brought up loads of stuff for me – I kind of feel like the injured gazelle out there on the road.

    Love the 101/101 idea. Made me think of Sonya Sones – I’ve read two teen novels of hers in short linked poetry that made me wonder why I needed to waffle on.
    Maybe way off the genre/style/audience you’re aiming for but perhaps worth a look?

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      Thank you so much for the valuable feedback! And I will check out Sonya Sones. I believe that conquering the technical aspects of completing an enjoyable 101/101 read is highest of my current priorities. If Sones delivers a continuous narrative with linked poetry, this does indeed seem fertile ground for study. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

