Life Lessons

March 11, 2016

  Life is full of cuts
And barbs and pricks and dings
Fire rages beneath the crucible-
My body
In this world of “things”

When my Maker brings the heat
I feel the sting
He smelts the silver of my soul
To reveal weaknesses
Adversity holds

Dross rises to the silver’s surface
There for me to scrape away
Or let sink back into my essence
To rise and mar another day

Life’s fiery lessons
Are but beauty on the journey
A gift,
My blessing…

-DeRicki

6 Responses to “Life Lessons”

  1. Eric said

    This entire work is amazing.
    But this:
    Dross rises to the silver’s surface
    There for me to scrape away
    Or let sink back into my essence
    To rise and mar another day

    How perfect. It’s up to us to remove those impurities which we find holds us back…but sometimes impurities grant stability and resistance to outside harmful forces.

    Great work, Sir.

  2. It forges wisdom and demands great courage to embrace suffering, as clearly you appreciate. Fine work DeRicki, for which many congratulations and thanks are due. All best wishes, Hariod.

  3. Reblogged this on Through The Coloured Glass and commented:
    One of my favourite poets in current times

    • DeRicki Johnson said

      Thanks for your kind comment! Sorry for the delay in responding – I really don’t attend to my WordPress blog as I should.

Leave a Reply

